## Exemption from visa requirements

If you are a holder of a valid residence title of another Schengen member country or a national of one of the following countries, you do not need a visa to enter and to reside in Austria for up to **90 days within 180 days**.

The prerequisite is that you

- do not wish to stay in Austria for longer than the period stated below and
- do not intend to take up gainful employment in Austria.

For those in possession of a service/official passport (*Dienstpass*) or a diplomatic passport separate regulations apply (information is available from the <u>Austrian representative</u> <u>authorities</u>). If you are allowed to enter Austria without a visa, you may apply for a residence title during your permitted visa-free stay in Austria. The application, however, does not permit you to stay for longer than your permitted visa-free stay.

**Please note:** The visa-free stay basically applies to the entire Schengen area, i.e. days that you spend in other Schengen countries count towards the 90 days of your visa free stay!

Countries the nationals of which do not require a visa (visa-free entry):

- Albania\*
- Andorra
- Antigua and Barbuda
- Argentina
- Australia
- Bahamas
- Barbados
- Bosnia and Herzegovina\*
- Brazil
- Brunei
- Canada
- Chile
- Colombia
- Costa Rica
- Dominica
- El Salvador
- Georgia\*
- Grenada
- Guatemala
- Honduras
- **Hong Kong** (holders of a "Hong Kong Special Administrative Region" and "British National Overseas" passport only)
- Israel
- Japan 6 months (only applies to Austria!)

- Kiribati
- **Republic of Korea** (South)
- Republic of Kosovo
- Liechtenstein unlimited
- Macau (holders of a "Regiao Administrativa Especial de Macau passport only)
- Malaysia
- Marshall Islands
- Mauritius
- Mexico
- Micronesia
- Moldova\*
- Monaco
- Montenegro\*
- New Zealand
- Nicaragua
- North Macedonia\*
- Palau
- Panama
- Paraguay
- Peru
- Samoa
- San Marino
- Solomon Islands
- Serbia\*
- Seychelles
- Singapore
- St. Christopher and Nevis (St. Kitts and Nevis)
- St. Lucia
- St. Vincent and the Grenadines
- Switzerland unlimited
- **Taiwan** (holders of passports that include an identity card number only)
- **Timor-Leste** (East Timor)
- Tonga
- Trinidad and Tobago
- Tuvalu
- Ukraine\*
- United Arab Emirates
- United Kingdom
- United States of America
- Uruguay
- Vanuatu
- Vatican State
- Venezuela

\*only applies to holders of a biometric passport | as at: January 2024