Competences

More than fifty years ago the OeAD started its activities with mobility programmes for students. Mobility measures and their management are still some of the main tasks of the OeAD-GmbH. Today the OeAD addresses people and institutions of all areas of education with its broad spectrum of tasks.

Moreover, the OeAD fulfils strategic tasks within the framework of internationalisation of education. The "Information and Trend Analysis" department deals with the development of empirically based reporting and analysis tools for internationalisation questions. We provide the educational institutions and ministries with the results.

The implementation of the Erasmus+ programme also involves a whole number of mandatory activities to support policies in all educational fields. The topics are predefined by the Erasmus+ programme and orient themselves on the EU 2020 strategy as well as on the strategic framework "Education and Training 2020".

Our activities and tools are to make learning comprehensible, measurable and exploitable. The Europass tools, the activities of the Bologna Service Point, the Coordination Point for the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) and ARQA-VET contribute essentially to this in the areas of information, guidance, orientation and quality assurance.

The European higher education area

The Bologna Process’s aim is the unification and thus comparability and mutual recognition of higher education degrees throughout Europe. The Bologna reform is essential for the European higher education area. To support the reform processes at the higher education institutions the European Commission has created the National Bologna Experts project, which is managed by the Bologna Service Point of the OeAD.

Education, career and the world of work

The Europass CV is a European-wide standardised template in 27 languages. Europass supports European citizens in presenting their skills and qualifications across Europe in a clear way. In this way it becomes possible for employers to compare the qualifications of applicants better.

In the area of vocational education and training the ECVET Experts project and the ECVET Contact Point, which advise and train people and institutions in vocational education and training, have been established to make educational diplomas comparable.

Since October 1st, 2007 the Austrian Reference Point for Quality Assurance in Vocational Education and Training (ARQA-VET) has been established at the OeAD-GmbH. ARQA-VET’s task is to provide advice and service for the actors in vocational education and training in Austria in the area of quality assurance and quality development.The national information centre Euroguidance Austria supports activities aimed at implementing political agendas in adult education.

The National Qualifications Framework (NQF) facilitates transparent presentation and comparison of qualifications. With the help of the Coordination Point for the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) institutions of all educational areas are given the possibility to inform themselves about the individual qualification levels which are described in the NQF. The NQF was implemented by recommendation of the European Parliament and the Council and is closely related to the European Qualifications Framework (EQF).

Development policy and development research

Another of the OeAD’s areas of focus is development research. In addition to the management of scholarship programmes the "Education and Research for International Development Cooperation" department contributes essentially to awareness raising for development policy topics by means of the two programmes KEF and APPEAR.

Cooperation between science, schools and society

At the interface of science, schools and society the Public Science department funds, supports and coordinates projects in which schools and/or interested citizens work together with researchers. The aim is to involve the general public in science and research issues.

Marketing for the Austrian higher education institutions

A special area of responsibility of the OeAD is also to promote Austria internationally as a location for higher education. Within the framework of the Austrian higher education marketing the OeAD provides information worldwide about courses, higher education institutions and study options in Austria and represents all Austrian higher education institutions at international education fairs. The higher education marketing’s aim is to emphasise and increase the attractiveness and international presence of Austria as a location for higher education and research.

OeAD-GmbH


+43 1 534 08 0

Ebendorferstraße 7
1010 Wien

Expertise

Mit Mobilitätsprogrammen für Studierende nahm der OeAD vor mehr als fünfzig Jahren seine Tätigkeit auf. Nach wie vor zählen Mobilitätsmaßnahmen und deren Abwicklung zu den Hauptaufgaben der OeAD-GmbH. Heute spricht der OeAD mit seinen vielfältigen Aufgaben Menschen und Institutionen der gesamten Bildungskette an.

Darüber hinaus nimmt der OeAD strategische Aufgaben im Rahmen der Internationalisierung der Bildung wahr. Die Stabstelle "Information und Trendanalyse" beschäftigt sich mit dem Aufbau empirisch gestützter Berichts- und Analyseinstrumente zu Fragen der Internationalisierung. Die Ergebnisse werden den Bildungsinstitutionen und Ministerien zur Verfügung gestellt.

Auch die Umsetzung des Programms Erasmus+ beinhaltet eine Reihe von verpflichtenden Aktivitäten zur Unterstützung von Politik in allen Feldern der Bildung. Die Themen werden vom Programm Erasmus+ vorgegeben und orientieren sich an der EU-2020-Strategie sowie am strategischen Rahmen "Bildung und Ausbildung 2020".

Unsere Aktivitäten und Instrumente sollen Lernen fassbar, messbar und verwertbar machen: Die Europass-Instrumente, die Aktivitäten der Bologna-Servicestelle, die Koordinierungsstelle für den Nationalen Qualifikationsrahmen (NQR) und ARQA-VET leisten wichtige Beiträge in den Bereichen Information, Beratung, Orientierung und Qualitätssicherung.

Der europäische Hochschulraum

Ziel des Bologna-Prozesses ist die Vereinheitlichung und dadurch die Vergleichbarkeit und gegenseitige Anerkennung der Hochschulabschlüsse in Europa. Für den europäischen Hochschulraum ist die Bologna-Reform maßgeblich. Zur Unterstützung der Reformprozesse an den Hochschulen hat die Europäische Kommission das Projekt der nationalen Bologna-Expert/innen ins Leben gerufen, das von der Bologna-Servicestelle im OeAD betreut wird.

Bildung, Karriere und Arbeitswelt

Der Europass-Lebenslauf ist eine europaweit standardisierte Vorlage in 27 Sprachen. Europass unterstützt europäische Bürger/innen dabei, ihre Fähigkeiten und Qualifikationen europaweit klar verständlich aufzubereiten. Arbeitgeber erhalten damit die Möglichkeit, Qualifikationen von Bewerber/innen besser vergleichen zu können.Im Bereich Berufsausbildung wurde nach dem Modell der Vergleichbarkeit von Abschlüssen das Projekt ECVET-Expert/innen mit der ECVET-Kontaktstelle eingerichtet, die Personen und Institutionen in der Berufsbildung beraten und schulen.

Seit 1. Oktober 2007 ist die Österreichische Referenzstelle für Qualität in der Berufsbildung (ARQA-VET) in der OeAD-GmbH. Die Aufgabe von ARQA-VET ist es, die Akteure der beruflichen Bildung in Österreich im Bereich Qualitätssicherung und -entwicklung zu beraten und zu servicieren.

Das nationale Informationszentrum Euroguidance Österreich unterstützt Aktivitäten zur Umsetzung politischer Agenden im Bereich Erwachsenenbildung.

Der Nationale Qualifikationsrahmen (NQR) unterstützt die transparente Darstellung und den Vergleich von Qualifikationen. Mit der Koordinierungsstelle für den Nationalen Qualifikationsrahmen (NQR) haben Institutionen aller Bildungsbereiche die Möglichkeit, sich über die einzelnen Qualifikationsniveaus, die im NQR festgehalten sind, zu informieren. Der NQR wurde auf Empfehlung des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates implementiert und steht in enger Beziehung zum Europäischen Qualifikationsrahmen (EQR).

Entwicklungspolitik und Entwicklungsforschung

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der OeAD-GmbH ist die Entwicklungsforschung. Die Abteilung "Bildung und Forschung für internationale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit" leistet mit den zwei Programmschienen KEF und APPEAR neben der Abwicklung von Stipendienprogrammen einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Sensibilisierung für entwicklungspolitische Themen.

Zusammenarbeit von Wissenschaft, Schule und Gesellschaft

An der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Schule und Gesellschaft fördert, unterstützt und koordiniert die Abteilung Public Science Projekte, bei denen Schulen und/oder interessierte Bürger/innen mit Forscher/innen zusammenarbeiten. Ziel ist es, die Bevölkerung in die Fragen von Wissenschaft und Forschung einzubeziehen.

Marketing für die österreichischen Hochschulen

Eine besondere Verantwortung des OeAD ist es auch, den österreichischen Hochschulstandort international zu vermarkten. Im Rahmen des österreichischen Hochschulmarketings informiert der OeAD weltweit über Kurse, Hochschulen und Studienmöglichkeiten in Österreich und repräsentiert alle österreichischen Hochschulen auf internationalen Bildungsmessen. Das Hochschulmarketing zielt darauf ab, die Attraktivität und internationale Präsenz des österreichischen Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsstandorts zu unterstreichen und zu steigern.

OeAD-GmbH


+43 1 534 08 0

Ebendorferstraße 7
1010 Wien